The Kathmandu Valley in Nepal

21 January, 2015 0 Comments

Hanumandhoka Durbar Square

In the Kathmandu Valley in Nepal is the city of Kathmandu, which is the capital of the country, and two other cities calls Lalitpur and Bhaktapur, also known as Bhadgoan. But this valley is also as a great open-air museum with impressive seven groups of monuments of great historical and spiritual importance. These monuments are distributed in three places, known as the Durbar squares. In each one of them, there are many palaces and temples and as a whole give us spectacular views. In 1979, they were declared a World Heritage Site by Unesco.

Hanuman Dhoka Palace, which is located in the city of Kathmandu, Patan and Bhaktapur are the three Durbar squares:

– In the Hanuman Dhoka Palace square there is a lot to visit, but above all it is recommended that the tourist the visit to the magnificent temple of Bhawni larger Taleju temple, 40 meters high. This temple dates back to the mid sixteenth century.

– In the Patan Durbar Square it is recommended that you view the Palace of the Malla kings, the dynasty that ruled Nepal since the twelfth century until the eighteenth century. There are also four temples of two plants and a bell located outdoors.

Patan square

Bhaktapur Durbar Square is near the royal palace of the old Bhaktapur Kingdom. In this square you can visit the 55 Window Palace, built in the fifteenth century, the Golden Gate, which is a true work of art or the Erotic Temple Elephants, that you’ll be amazed.

If you don’t have time to visit all the places, at least visit the Pashupatinath Temple, which is one of the most important Hindu temples of Shiva in the world and is located in the city of Kathmandu. Previously, only the Hindus of birth had permission to enter the temple but also today visitors can enter. This is the oldest Hindu temple in Kathmandu, its origins go back to the year 400.

Photo 1: Esmar Abdulh Amid
Photo 2: Advocacy_Project

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Filed in: Nepal • Tags:

Leave a Reply